Skip to content

Smoked Sage Margarita

October 17, 2011

I love using regional ingredients in my drinks, and New Mexico has plenty to offer.  The Smoked Sage MArgarita has become quite a hit at Secreto Lounge (where I tend) using fresh sage leaves “smoked” into a fresh made margarita.  I also use a homemade smoked salt that I do at home , partially as an excuse to toss a pork shoulder on and have some barbecue as well.  Some commercial smoked salts are available, nad are pretty good, however most of them are made with liquid smoke, so use your discretion.

So on to the drink:

Smoked Sage Margarita

  • 1 1/2 oz Reposado tequila ( Ilegal Mescal is even better)
  • 1 oz orange liqueur
  • 1/2 oz fresh lime juice
  • smoked salt
  • 2-4 semi dried sage leaves
Combine tequila, orange liqueur, and lime juice in a mixing glass.  Take a Boston shaker and place upside down on top of two mixing glasses to form a pyramid.  carefully light the sage leaves and capture the smoke inside the invert shaker.  When smoke begins to pour out of the bottom, stop and toss the burnt leaves in your margarita, ice the mixing glass and cap it with your smoked filled Boston shaker.  Shake for 10 seconds then strain into a smoked salt rimmed glass filled with ice.  Garnish with a sage branch and lime wheel.
Sound like a lotta work?  Then come to Secreto and have one instead.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. drinksociety permalink
    November 2, 2011 2:42 pm

    My god that looks tasty.

    I would probably be tempted to add a dash of absinthe too but I’m just a sucker for sage with anise.

    …And I put absinthe in everything! Ha!

    Good work man!

  2. May 19, 2013 8:07 pm

    I have tried this seriously 4 times now and I have simply come to appreciate how you make it look so easy. I cannot get a good strong smoke taste. Any hints on how to get better results with the smoke?

  3. May 25, 2013 11:51 am

    Hey Byron.

    It is best to use sage leaves that re partially dried. Pull them off then stem and leave them on the counter for a few hours. And thank you for trying the drink. If you are ever in Santa Fe, I will personally rock one out for you.

    Cheers

  4. jim permalink
    November 26, 2013 12:39 pm

    this is my current favorite margarita (for the past year, since i discovered it); this place also makes a killer green chili cheeseburger

  5. Kalyn permalink
    May 10, 2014 6:51 pm

    I was just in Santa Fe last week and had one of these every evening – SOOOO delicious. Now I’m going to try to replicate it at home. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a comment