Skip to content

The Parting Glass: St Patrick’s Day Cocktails

March 15, 2012

A wise man said,”God gave the Irish whiskey so they wouldn’t rule the world.”  Not so much anymore.  In the past eighteen months consumption of Irish whiskey has risen by 74%, and mostly in  25-35 female drinking crowd.  Shocked?  I was a little until I thought back over the past year and a half and noticed that trend in Secreto Longe as well.  Why the draw?  What has made this style of whiskey so popular suddenly?

Well quite simply it is palatable, approachable and appealing.  It does not carry the smokey harshness that their Scottish neighbors embrace.  It is lighter and more refreshing than American domestic.  And, for lack of better words, it’s not Canadian, more known as a blue-collar grandpa beverage.

Uisce beatha: The Water of Life

So in hopes to avoid the seemingly stereotypical get-drunk-cause-everyone’s-Irish-on St-Paddy’s- Day, I’d like to offer a couple of great recipes for the more serious imbibers

Irish Old Fashioned

  • 2 oz Irish Whiskey (Jameson is my preference here)
  • 1 suger cube
  • teaspoon of water
  • 2 dashes orange bitters

Muddle sugar and water in the bottom of an Old Fashioned glass.  Add whiskey and bitters, stir to combine, and ice (Ice ball is really cool here).  Garnish with an orange peel and cherry

Whiskey Punch

  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1 honey syrup
  • 1 1/2 oz Irish Whiskey (Black Bush this time)
  • 2 oz Irish Breakfast tea (you choice of hot or cold
  • 1 dash Barrel Aged Bitters

Build in a Collins Glass add ice  and stir to combine.  If making this one hot, use an Irish coffee mug, of course.

The Parting Glass

  • 2 oz Irish Whiskey (Jameson 12 yr)
  • 1/2 oz Drambouie
  • 1/2 oz Sweet Vermouth
  • 2 dashes Peychaud Bitters

Combine all ingredients in a mixing glass and stir with ice.  Strain up into a chilled old-fashioned glass and garnish with orange peel.

The Parting Glass has become a huge hit at my bar! It is named from a Irish ballad from the 1770′s and the lyrics are at the end of this post

So do enjoy your St Patrick’s celebration as you join in on a people and culture full of rich heritage.  Stand fast and hold in Love, Loyalty and Friendship.  And may your night be filled with all the joys of Heaven.

The Parting Glass

Of all the money e’er I had,
I spent it in good company.
And all the harm I’ve ever done,
Alas! it was to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit
To mem’ry now I can’t recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all.

Oh, all the comrades e’er I had,
They’re sorry for my going away,
And all the sweethearts e’er I had,
They’d wish me one more day to stay,
But since it falls unto my lot,
That I should rise and you should not,
I gently rise and softly call,
Good night and joy be with you all.

If I had money enough to spend,
And leisure time to sit awhile,
There is a fair maid in this town,
That sorely has my heart beguiled.
Her rosy cheeks and ruby lips,
I own she has my heart in thrall,
Then fill to me the parting glass,
Good night and joy be with you all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,734 other followers

