Skip to content

Making the Mark

January 11, 2009

Last November I visited my daughter in Bardstown, Kentucky (where most of the world’s bourbon is made).  While there I could not resist the oppurtunity to visit at least one distillery.  After talking with a bartender or two, and some locals of Bardstown,  Maker’s Mark Distillery was the choice.

Here are a few pics from the trip….

savannah-034

 Six vats each 12 feet accross and 12 feet deep holding 1800 gallons of distiller’s beer.

5 story continuos still

5 story continuos still

 

Pot Stills

Pot Stills

Rack house (there are 11 total)

Rack house (there are 11 house total)

You can sign up as a Maker's Mark Ambassador as I did several years ago, and have your name put on a barrel.  After aging, you can go to the distillery for a bottle from your barrel (mine will be ready this Spring!)

You can sign up as a Maker's Mark Ambassador as I did several years ago, and have your name put on a barrel. After aging, you can go to the distillery for a bottle from your barrel (mine will be ready this Spring!)

Packing and Shipping.  The only part of the process NOT done by hand is the filling of the bottles.

Packing and Shipping. The only part of the process NOT done by hand is the filling of the bottles.Only 65 people people work at the Maker's. Each one cross trained in every step of the process. Jobs are rotated every couple of weeks so no one gets stale doing the same old thing.In the gift shop, you can dip your own bottle!!

A taste of Maker's with great company

My Dad and I enjoying the best part of the tour: A taste of Maker's with great company

Would I do this tour again?  In a heartbeat.  As a matter of fact I have to go get my signature bottle!  Anyone wanna join me for a drink??

Check out the Maker’s Mark website

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 3:10 am

    I Love your site!!!

Leave a Reply

