Skip to content

A Hidden Gem

January 17, 2009

So tonight I stopped by one of Santa Fe’s newer restaurants, Amavi. Hidden on a one way street off the Plaza, Amavi has become a new favorite from just one visit.

I did not sample the menu, though the reputation of Chef/Owner David Sellers stands on it’s own, I did sample a couple of incredible drinks.

I walked in the door, and was met by Heather Sellers (David’s wife and co-owner), who was holding a tray with four house-made Limoncellos.  Inticed, (becasue I make my own as well) I went into the Lounge and promptly ordered one from Bartender Starr Clark.  She poured and I was first struck by the clarity of this liqueur, which Starr makes for Amavi.  The flavor balance between lemon, sweetness, and alcohol was perfect!  Truly superior to most anything commercially made. 

I sipped my drink talking with other patrons, than asked to see a drink list.  Blow away number two!  The cocktail list was approachable, unique, and creative.  It featured original drinks that show a true appreciation fro classic design with comtemporary flavor.

But, being the ass that I am, I asked Starr to pick something for me.  She smiled and asked if I liked Absinthe, which I said “Yes!”  She poured me a Corpse Reviver, a obvious personal favorite of hers.  By design and by name this I would deduce it was created as a morning after/hangover drink (don’t quote me on that!).

Corpse Reviver

3/4 oz Hendricks Gin

3/4 oz Lillet Blanc

3/4 oz Cointreau

3/4 oz Fresh lemon Juice

Shake and Strain up into a cocktail glass.  Float 2 dashes of Absinthe.  Garnish with lemon twist.

That was blow away number three!!!  What a perfect choice of a drink.  Starr, knowing my affinity for classic drinks, poured this tipple with expertise and precision.  She is a learned pro at her craft.

So if you are in the area, stop by Amavi, and enjoy a little Limoncello, a Corpse Reviver, or any of the excellent drinks that are offered in this hidden gem of Santa Fe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

