Skip to content

AGWA Cocao Leaf Liqueur

February 20, 2009

One of the difficulties living in a remote town like Santa Fe, is discovering new porducts with which to work.  This may become more of a challenge as the New Mexico Legislature tries to stop interstate purchase of alcohol. 

I read a lot of product reviews each week, and hear about liquors and liqueurs not available where I am, but I can find them online.  And if they are of strong interest to me, I’ll buy from out of state  and start to play.

Sometimes I hit it lucky, though, and find something on the shelf (or passed to me by a distributor), and get my hands on something new (at least new to me).

Yesterday, I had one such occasion with AGWA, a cocoa leaf liqueur from Bolivia.  Unlike most other cocao liueurs, it is made form the leaf instead of the bean.  SO needless to say, I started to play….

AGWA Rita

2 oz Reposado tequila

1 oz AGWA

1/2 fresh lime juice

Stake with ice and strain over ice in a salt margarita or rocks glass.

 

Hazel Eyes Cocktail

2 oz London dry gin

1 oz AGWA

1 teaspoon curacao

1-2 dashes Peyshaud bitters

Stir and strian up in a cocktail glass.  Garnish with a lime wedge.

 

Salud!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

