Skip to content

Quality vs Quantity

July 10, 2009

The other night a wonderful patron came into my bar, nad ordered a drink.  As I started to mix his drink, I reached for my measuring cup.  “Oh no, Man!”, said my guest.  “Don;t measure it!  I want a good drink.”

‘Good” to this gentleman meant an overpoured drink apparently.

As I continued with the drink.  I explained, “The reason I am using the cup is to ensure you get a GREAT drink, my friend.  I want every flavor to be balanced and perfect this time and every time you come to my bar.  Trust me you won;t be disappointed.” He wasn’t.   Thanks Ture Believer!

I kept thinking about this chat after my shift.  

What if the chef in the kitchen didn’t measure the salt in the soup? 

What if the carpenter didn’t measure the cut? 

What if the doctor didn’t measure the anesthesia? 

See my point?  I want each person to have a cocktail experience that rivials all others.  I want everyone that come in for one of my drinks to be taken on a mixological journey.  That is my job as your bartender. 

So how about a drink?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 9:02 am

    i am a “True Believer” also!
    But i will admit to enjoying “free pour madness” beverages also.
    Usually i size up the bartender on the first drink (preferably before if possible!) and adjust my order accordingly.

    When i am behind the stick, it is house rules all the way.

    There is room for adjustment when there are specific, ie: i like my Martini 7 to 1 or 4 to 1 or whatever.
    Generally they just want a stiff drink because they don’t ever get good ones (and if it sucks at least it’s strong??).

  2. July 10, 2009 11:34 am

    Thanks for the comment, Forrest. Always a pleasure to hear from others!

    And please keep in mind that I too, pending on the situation, receive better pours than others for whatever reason. But this is usually in shot or “on the Rocks” form. And it is NEVER asked for or expected!!

    However if I am drinking a Manhattan, or other libation that requires precision for balance in flavor, I would hope that all that ingredients are proportionate with each other no matter the size pour.

    In other words just becasue I reach for a jigger does not mean you are not getting a healthy drink, It simply means I care that all ingredients are in line with each other.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

