Skip to content

Cocktail connections and new creations

August 26, 2009

I love my computer.  When I first got serious about mixology,  I knew there had to be other bartenders in the world that wanted to learn and develop our craft.  And unless you lived in a metropolitan area like or were lucky enough to be able to travel, it was difficult to find those with similar interest.

Enter the Internet.

My computer has been my connection to the world of mixology for the past 14 years or so.  Through forums and social networking sites, bartenders, mixologists, and cocktail enthusiasts have been able to find each other and information to advance our knowledge as well as give us a sense of community with each other.  And though I have never laid eyes on most of the mixologists I have met through these mediums, I feel like I have drunk at each of their bars.

Enter T.G.

T.G. is another cocktail geek living here in Santa Fe who found me through the Chanticleer Society (which was created by yet another online friend!!).  T.G. stopped in my bar the other night with some frineds and we all had  a marvelous conversation while I mixed a few drinks.  One of which w:

The Hubris Cocktaas inspired by thsi visit

The Hubris Cocktail

1 oz Hendricks Gin

1 oz Green Chartreuse

1/2 oz St Germain

1 tsp Sweet Vermouth

2 dashes of Regan’s Orange Bitters

Combine all ingredients with ice and stir.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

 

It is always great to meet folks who share the same passions, and as interest in quality mixology continues, I hope that all of us have a chance to have a drink together sometime!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. T.G. Mittler permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:14 am

    It was a great time, wonderful hospitality!

    Cheers

  2. T. G. Mittler permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:27 pm

    So, I tried the “Hubris” again and this time it seemed a little heavy on the Chartreuse, so fiddled with the recipe:

    2 oz. Hendricks Gin (I increased the measure, Embury would be proud)
    1/2 oz. St. Germain (thank you, I went out and bought a bottle, heavenly.)
    1/2 oz. Green Chartreuse
    1/4 oz. Lillet (a little lighter on the palate than Italian but not as dry as French vermouth)
    2 dash orange bitters

    Stir all ingredients with ice and strain into chilled cocktail glass. Garnish with fresh Basil leaf.

    I like my version, but you are the pro, and I’m just a punter.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

