Skip to content

Beefeater 24: Time in a Bottle

May 18, 2010

Finding ultra-premium gin in New Mexico can be challenging at best.  I put the local liquor suppliers through hell sometimes trying to get items that I want.  My guess for this is that there is little call for good gin, so suppliers and liquor stores don’t carry or stock it so not to take up space on shelves or create dust collector.  And because of the general lack of quality gin, like many spirits, we are cursed in our knowledge and our tastes are immature.

But demand is changing!! And quality the bar is being raised for distillers to make great, distinctive, and quality spirits.  So it is with Beefeater 24.   Created by Beefeater’s Master Distiller, Desmond Payne,  specifically for the distinguishing connoisseur, I find 24 to be a great place to start one’s journey in the world of gin.  It wouldn’t be gin if it did not contain juniper, however the blend of citrus, botanicals, and the unique addition of Sencha and green tea(12 botanicals in all macerated for 24 hours, hence the name) help make this a very approachable gin.

At 45%alcohol (90 proof) Beefeater 24 shows little burn on the palate with strong notes of citrus and a little spice.  The juniper is balanced and refreshing and the finish is clean.  As a mixer, i made a couple of my favorite gin based drinks while I tasted.  First was, f course, a martini: the classic one with sweet vermouth and orange bitters.  Beefeaters 24 blended in perfectly with these flavors giving me everything I would want from a martini.  Next I tried a Pink Gin (2 oz Beefeaters 24 and 4 dashes Angostura Bitters).  This was a bit of a surprise in that I thought the bitters might swallow the delicate notes of the gin.  However, I found that they also played in great harmony and lent to a more subtle Pink Gin than I had ever had.

Finally I made one of my own drinks, The Basil-ica Cocktail.  I recently created this drink using a different gin but after trying the Basil-ica with Beefeaters 24, I have changed my recipe.

The Basil-ica Cocktail

  • 2 oz Beefeater 24
  • 1/2 oz St Germain
  • 1/2 oz fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 oz simple syrup
  • 4 large basil leaves
  • 1 dash Peychaud Bitters
  • 1 dash Orange Bitters (I use Regan’s)

Muddle basil, lemon juice, simple syrup and bitters.  Add Gin and St Germain.  Shake for 10 seconds and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with Basil leaf and long orange twist.

So if you are new to gin or an old dog like me, Beefeater 24 is a must try.  And at a rice point just higher than the standard calls, the few extra dollars will prove to be worth the enjoyment!

Cheers!

For more information, please visit Beeafeater 24

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 5:35 am

    I am honored you tried my drink. Thank you and hope you enjoyed it!

Trackbacks

  1. 24 Drinks: Chris Milligan’s Basil-ica Cocktail « Cocktail Culture
  2. Basil-ica « Eat Your Cereal With A Fork

Leave a Reply

