Skip to content

Getting Comfy-Southern Style

August 12, 2010

Sometimes, I get into a creativity rut with crafting new drinks (I call it ‘Booze block”).  I find myself reaching for the same ole bottles and working within a safety net of ingredients.  That’s when I take time to look at my back-bar or a new product for a little inspiration or even a challenge.

Enter Southern Comfort……

“SoCo” has been around since 1874 and was created by Martin Wilkes Heron, a New Orleans barman looking to improve on whiskey.  The nose has defined whiskey notes with peach, spice and sweetness.  The palate is smooth with a touch of bitter and not overly “thick” like many liqueurs, and the finish completes the bitterness with a medium linger.

It never occurred to me to use SoCo in a drink subconsciously overlooking this bottle after spending more than a lot of nights pounding shots with my old college roommate and waking the next morning not knowing if I wanted to plant my head or his through a brick wall. 

So my personally challenge to create a drink was set.  I took a taste, and began to let my mind roll around with the flavors and imagining what I could come up with.  A couple of days later I was informed about SoCo Lime, a new addition to the Southern Comfort Family (which also includes SoCo 100, Special Reserve, and a few “ready-to-drink” drinks). 

SoCo Lime has a mild citrus nose balanced with the other flavors of the original Liqueur.  The mouth feel is smooth and the taste matching the nose with a clean and refreshing finish. 

Now that I began looking at SoCo and SoCo Lime like a grown-up, the creativity conveyor belt started doing it’s thing.  With a bottle of Soco Lime now on the back –bar, I spent an entire night pouring drinks for the willing but unknowing regulars coming into my bar mixing without telling them the ingredients until after gaining their approval.  I took great pleasure in watching their eyes light up and their jaws drop when I told them what I had poured!

 

Southern Devil

  • 1 oz Anejo Tequila
  • 1 oz SoCo Lime
  • 4 oz Ginger Ale
  • 2 dashes Orange Bitters

Build ingredients over Ice in a Collins glass,  Garnish with lime wheel

Conniption

  • 3/4 oz Soco
  • 1 ½ oz Rye Whiskey
  • ½ oz Fresh Lime Juice
  • ½ oz Demerara Syrup (1:1)
  • 1 Apricot, Pitted
  • Sweet Paprika Rim

Muddle apricot, syrup and lime juice in a mixing glass.  Add Rye and SoCo Lime.  Shake and Strain into a cocktail glass half rimmed with Sweet Paprika. (for the brave at heart, substitute cayenne pepper or a couple of drops of Tabasco for the paprika).

Dixie Belle

  • 1 oz Gin
  • 3/4  oz SoCo Lime
  • 4 oz Brut Sparking Wine
  • 1 dash Peychaud Bitters

Build in a Champagne flute, Garnish with a peach slice.

For more information on Southern Comfort and all their products, click here or become a fan on Facebook

(Photos courtesy of Brown -Foreman)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

