Skip to content

Get in the Back of the House!

March 2, 2011

I am frequently asked when making drinks if I like to cook as well.  I do.  I started in the restaurant world in the back of the house washing dishes and bussing tables before being moved onto the line.  While working in an international restaurant company part of my training was to be able to proficiently execute every cook station as well as prepare every tem on the menu.  But I’m not here to give you my resume (please email me for that!)

I do love to cook, and am pretty good at it.  Am I at chef level?  HELL no.  Would even think of going there.  Not saying I can;t run a kitchen or hold my own on the line.  But “chef’ I am not.

But I do love to cook.  And there is a cross over in technique and ingredients that can be embraced from both side of the window.  And one of these cross overs I love is food inspired by drinks.  A very prominent Loud dressed, loud spoken TV cook got me going with this when I saw him make Mojito Chicken with a very over the top recipe and presentation.  Since then I have done a few at-home runs at cocktail influenced meals.  And I want ti share one of those recipes.  I do hope that I do more justice to culinary technique than I see most of those TV chef do to mixology technique (OUCH!).

I don’t usually promote pre-made, pre-packaged mixes either, but recently someone shared some amazing stuff with me that helped inspire this dish.  Try it at your next Sunday Brunch with a couple Bloody Marys

Southwest Bloody Mary Meatloaf

  • 2 pounds 85/15 lean ground beef
  • 2 tablespoons Demtri’s Classic Rim
  • 1/8 Red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped white onion (I like Vidalia)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 New Mexico Green Chile chopped (you can sub Anaheim or any medium spice chile)
  • 1/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 2 large eggs
  • 6-8 oz Demitri’s Classic, Chipolte-Habanero, or Chiles and Peppers Bloody Mary Seasoning (for a glaze)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Combine all ingredients  (except the Bloody Mary Seasoning)) in a large bowl and mix together with your hands until combined.  Place mixture in a loaf pan to shape, and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Cover a baking sheet with a piece of parchment paper and place over the loaf pan.  Rotate the pans 180° to turn out your meatloaf.

Place in the oven with a probe thermometer and set it for 160° internal temp.  After 20 minute of cooking, glaze your meatloaf with your chosen Bloody Mary Seasoning (Demitri also has a Horseradish one, but I don;t recommend it here.  Makes hell of a drink though!)

When the probe beeps, remove the meatloaf from the oven and let rest.  Yes, DO NOT TOUCH for 10 minutes.  The flavors gotta set.  Take this time to set the table and make yourself a Bloody Mary.

Cheers and Happy Munching!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 3:20 pm

    Hmmm. I love to cook but am newer at creating cocktails and am finding much mixology inspiration in my culinary experience. Not everything turns out great but I’m really having fun with it. Your meatloaf recipe looks like something my husband would definitely love. I’m gonna try it.

  2. March 3, 2011 10:55 am

    Thank you! I hope you and your hubby like it.

  3. March 4, 2011 1:16 pm

    Hello MixnSip!
    I hope you like it too! If you can’t find a bottle at your local retailer, we’ll ship some directly to you. http://www.TheBestBloodyMary.com

    Cheers!
    Demitri

Leave a Reply

