Skip to content

Income Tax Cocktail: “Ease his pain….”

April 15, 2011

Like many, I LOATHE this time of year when i sit down to figure my taxes.  When I was younger and had no wife and kids, filling out the 1040EZ was quick simple and I knew I would have a few huundred headed my way so I could go out and blow it on a bonge at the bar.  Nowadays, I curse every moment of the process wishing I could squeeze a pint of blood from the IRS for every dollar paid.

But there is some hope for those like me.  A cocktail to help wash down and ease the gloom, despair and agony of the day: The Income Tax Cocktail.  

Similar to the Bronx cocktail, the Income Tax Cocktail has added Angostura Bitters (appropriate the the bitterness of the tax experience) and is a great libation to help relax and realize that life goes better with a drink.

Income Tax Cocktail

  • 2 oz London Dry Gin
  • 1/2 oz Dry Vermouth
  • 1/2 oz Sweet Vermouth
  • 1 oz fresh orange juice
  • 2 dashes of Angostura Bitters
Combine all ingredients in a mixing glass with ice and shake  like would you shake an IRS Agent.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass, and garnish with an orange spiral.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

