Skip to content

Irish True

February 26, 2014

Last March I spent two of the most incredible and life changing weeks in Ireland.  Yes I was there for St Paddy’s, but that was not the pivotal moment nor even the reason I was there: pure coincidence.

There is something different about Ireland….something magical.  The hospitality and general good nature of the Irish is unbeatable (where Southern hospitality gets its roots).  The smiles I saw on people’s faces glowed as I toured all around from Dublin, Middleton, Cork, Cobh, Doolin (especially), Glencolmcille, into Belfast and back into Dublin (yeah I left a couple out).  The land is beyond any green imaginable, the air is rich, the music made me want to dance like no one was looking, the food was filling, and then there was the whiskey.  Everywhere you look there is unsurpassed beauty, and the folks there richly jolly especially for a country that has been through what Ireland has endured, and survived.

The experience was one of great joy for me that changed the way I see myself and the world.  My thirst for more was unquenchable and I didn’t want to leave.  There was no way anyone could capture this feeling in pictures or nay media……..

Facebook1_400x400Then a couple months ago I was surfing Facebook and saw an ad for Tullamore DEW Irish Whiskey that did the impossible.  This 2:34 minute spot did what I thought could not be done.  I watched with tears in my eyes as I began to experience the same beauty I felt standing amidst the grassy knolls of the Emerald Isle watching the commercial.

Really??? YES!!!

fb ad2Tullamore DEW calls its new ad campaign “Irish True”…. and that is exactly what it is.

The featured song, “The Parting Glass” dates to the 1850’s and is truly one of my favorites.  If you recall, I did a drink a couple years ago named after that song: a drink meant as a nightcap to top of the evening as one departs from friends.and heads to slumber.

I watched this Tullamore DEW ad over and over again and shared it with anyone and everyone near my office.  Still now each time I watch it takes me back to a special place in myself I discovered on my travels in Ireland.

So this St.  Patrick’s Day season, I invite you to raise a glass to family and friends, to loves and losses and ……to change…..

For more visit Tullamore DEW

The Parting Glass (2 drinks)

  • 4 oz Tullamore DEW Irish Whiskey
  • 1 oz Sweet Vermouth
  • 1 oz Drambouie
  • 4 dashes orange bitters

Stir all ingredients with ice and strain into two chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish each with an orange twist.  This must always be shared with a friend!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

